Adventures in Cooking … With Color!

This last weekend we celebrated Nick’s birthday! Last year, on his birthday, I baked him jalapeno cheese grits. This year I continued that little tradition and added another detail. A Dalek cake!

dalek cake

The best part of this cake? The chocolate icing? The fact that I didn’t destroy it while baking?

Or the colorful inside?

I wanted Nick to be surprised when he cut his piece. The cake wasn’t just tasty, it was fancy!

First of all, I started with our own fresh eggs from the lovely ladies in the backyard. I also bought cake mix, the icing, and food coloring. Since it is super close to Easter, the choices for food coloring were all Easter themed. Luckily, Nick just loves anything colorful.

chicken eggs

I prepared the batter as described on the box, then I separated it and used food coloring to get four brightly colored sections. Next, I just poured a little bit at a time, allowing the batter to spread each colorful section beneath it. Great news here, you can be as messy as you want, or are naturally. The messier your pour, the more wacky the cake will be. Just don’t stir it all together. It would lose the different colors.

colorful cake

I went with a French Vanilla flavor because the cake without altering would be white, so the color added would pop easily. I love how it turned out once it was all finished. I’m craving it just typing this up and looking at the pictures again. Yikes!

colorful cake

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

