I’m an Adult pt. 2

Almost six months ago I wrote a post about my monster wisdom tooth and how I was going to put on my big girl panties and get it taken care of. I had been putting it off because I hate surgeries, pain, and needles. In the last month, it had gotten worse. I was constantly biting my cheek, altering how I ate things, and in pain every day. The tooth had come in sideways and the pain was getting increasingly worse. I then remembered I had made a promise to myself and the dentist that I would get it taken care of within six months. I just barely made that promise by being a huge procrastinator.

I went in last week for a consultation to an oral surgeon close to the house. He explained how there is no room on the left side of my mouth for the wisdom tooth, or any other tooth, and that is why I was biting my cheek. The tooth had to come out. There was no other option. Finally, someone who knew what he was talking about.

Last Friday I went in for surgery. The tooth is now in a little plastic baggy they gave me. I apparently asked if I could keep it, which is awesome cause I’ve been dealing with that tooth almost seven years, so I want something to show for it.

Good News:

– I don’t need to get an implant to take place of the missing tooth. There isn’t any room!

– The tooth apparently hadn’t attached itself to my  jaw bone. So they just pulled it right out. No stitches needed.

– This doctor knew what he was doing, how to do things right, and the right meds to give a terrified person who gets nauseous on pain medication.

What gets me is how on earth could my previous surgeon or orthodontist not have noticed the lack of space for this tooth to come in. I suffered years with a chain attached to the tooth, which was seriously painful, then the tooth erupting sideways, also super painful.

Nick took care of me all weekend. He has been telling me stories of how hilarious I was upon waking up from the surgery. I kept telling the doctor and nurses how great of a job they did and thanking them. I also managed to spill ice cream all over myself. I slept most of the weekend and am still recovering, but it’s going way better than I expected. I hate being inactive, so resting over the weekend frustrated me, even though I needed it. I’m doing everything I can to prevent infection or a dry socket (this tooth is where I had a dry socket in high school, and I do not want to repeat that event).

I would post pictures of the massive tooth and disgusting bruise I had from the iv, but they gross me out enough as it is. So you will have to enjoy these photos instead. I decided to practice my un-scrapbooking skills while recovering.

Typography Scrapbook

Working on a scrapbook

JD not letting me work

JD not letting me work

Now I just can’t wait until I’m all healed so I can chew without the pain of that ridiculous tooth. This will be the first time in almost 7 years that I will be able to chew on the left side of my mouth without a chain or an ornery tooth, seeking revenge or something.

Sounds too good to be true!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I’m an Adult pt. 2

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll
    learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the
    next!

  2. HNoiAvxAmM says:

    Keep all the articles coming. I love reading through your things. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

