Gardening Updates

Nick has taken charge with the gardening since I am away more from home (new job!). He is doing an amazing job!

I am just blown away by the beautiful flowers that the fruit and veggies are producing. It is very exciting.

The cucumber plants are getting to be taller than me. They aren’t growing straight up, or they would be way taller, because I didn’t set up great trellises. So, they are growing sideways a bit. Whatever works. You live and learn!

Ignore the pig tails! It is hot outside

Then, there are the tomatoes and jalapenos.

Nick has already promised that he will eat the first jalapeno that we pick whole. I’m looking forward to this moment. Big time.

So, this being my first trip into gardening, I am learning what not to do next time. I planted multiple plants in pots, and am realizing this was a terrible idea. These plants need space, so I’ve done some testing with re-potting and replanting. The soil in our backyard is not great. It is very clay like and has tons of rocks. I planted two tomato plants and a cucumber plant just to see what would happen. Surprisingly….super surprisingly, they are doing amazing.

And our baby chickens are all grown up. They no longer go “peep”, they now make chicken sounds like “bak bak” and “BAK!!!” when Nick chases then for “exercise”. Lol.

They love to eat the vines

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

